Demolition Dad

Author(s): Phil Earle

Middle Fiction

This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers. He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected...


 


This is DANNY THE CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in Spandex, a hilarious, warm-hearted story from a talented writer.


Product Information

First in a brand-new middle-grade series from Carnegie longlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, DEMOLITION DAD is a hilarious, warm story about family, friends and wrestling - perfect for fans of David Walliams.

Phil "BOOKCRUSHER" Earle has written one, funny, fabulous, pile driving BLAST of a book.(Read it in Lycra for full wrestling experience.) LIZ PICHON, author of TOM GATES Sara Ogilvie's beautifully drawn illustrations add real life and humour DAVID TAZZYMAN, illustrator of MR GUM The funniest book I've read this year. It's a wonderful mix of heart, wit and wrestling Lycra KATHERINE RUNDELL, author of ROOFTOPPERS Warm, funny and heartfelt ROBIN STEVENS, author of MURDER MOST UNLADYLIKE ...Masses of humou.r, heart, some cracking jokes and moments of real poignancy -- Fiona Noble The Bookseller

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. He lives on a hill in South London with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus. Follow him on Twitter @philearle and visit his website at http://www.philearle.com/ Sara Ogilvie won the BOOKTRUST BEST NEW ILLUSTRATORS AWARD in 2011. Her bestselling collaboration with Anna Kemp, DOGS DON'T DO BALLET, was shortlisted for the ROALD DAHL FUNNY PRIZE 2010 and the BOOKTRUST EARLY YEARS AWARD 2010. Sara lives in Newcastle Upon Tyne.

General Fields

  • : 9781444013863
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • : April 2015
  • : 200mm X 135mm X 16mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 1
  • : Sara Ogilvie
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : 192
  • : Phil Earle
  • : Paperback