Dead End Kids

Author(s): Bernard Ashley

Middle Fiction

London is at war and as the Blitz rages, children like Josie and her brother Len face the same dangers as the adults. Can they find the strength to stand up against the onslaught? A tale of amazing bravery, inspired by the true story of the Dead End Kids of Wapping--young people who fought fires and rescued their friends and neighbors from bomb sites. Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, this dramatic story brings World War II vividly to life.


Product Information

It's not only soldiers who have to be brave.

Award-winning author Bernard Ashley writes for young readers with such clarity, bringing the characters' lives into sharp focus Coventry Telegraph Superbly written, you are really drawn into the horror of the time and will marvel at the resilience shown by Londoners, young and old Parents In Touch Bernard Ashley's vivid descriptions take the reader into the heart of the East End in wartime Books for Keeps

Bernard Ashley is one of the top writers for teenagers today. Drawing on his experience as a headteacher in a South London school he writes exciting, hard-hitting stories for the young adult reader plus picture book and younger fiction texts. Bernard's first novel, The Trouble with Donovan Croft, won the 'Other Award', an alternative to the Carnegie Award. Since then he has written extensively both for television and the children's book market. His adaptation of his own novel Dodgem won the Royal Television Society Award for the Best Children's Entertainment Programme. Bernard has written a number of successful novels for Orchard Books. Tiger Without Teeth was chosen as the Guardian's Children's Book of the Week; Little Soldier, about the gang-run estates of inner London, was shortlisted for both the Carnegie and Guardian Fiction Award; and Revenge House, a hard-hitting crime thriller, are all typical of Bernard's highly charged, gritty approach. Bernard Ashley lives in South East London only a street or so from where he was born. During his time as a teacher and headteacher he worked in Kent, Hertfordshire, Newham and Greenwich. Visit Bernard Ashley at: www.bashley.com

General Fields

  • : 9781408338957
  • : Hachette Children's Group
  • : Orchard Books
  • : July 2015
  • : 286mm X 129mm X 17mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 224
  • : Bernard Ashley
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : en
  • : 823.92