Roller Girl

Author(s): Victoria Jamieson

Comics & Graphic Novels

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby--perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high ) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school... in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.


In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power.


Product Information

A wonderful story about friendship, self-belief and SERIOUSLY awesome girls! -- Robin Stevens, bestselling author of Murder Most Unladylike

This spiky, winning graphic novel captures the bittersweetness of finding a new passion and saying goodbye to your former, more uncertain self * New York Times *

A refreshing, witty story of trying, failing, reinvention, ambition, team spirit and how to be a decent friend * Guardian *

Vivid and funny . . . The graphic format makes it fizz . . . And the contact sport of roller derby makes for a fascinating setting. Expressive, fearsomely physical and dominated by women, the author brilliantly conveys its appeal * Observer *

A note-perfect middle-grade story of friendships lost and rebuilt, wrapped up in lively graphic novel form. Astrid is a peach of a hero, a likeable misfit desperate to be a great skater like her idol. Her discovery that it's not as easy as it looks will resonate with anyone who's ever dreamed of glory and fallen flat on their face; her response to disappointment will lift the heart -- Susie Day, author of Pea's Book of Best Friends

Roller Girl's message of self-discovery, friendship, and perseverance will roll its way right into your heart -- Raina Telgemeier, bestselling author of Sisters Full of charm . . . Don't let this one roll past * Kirkus *

Readers will stand up and cheer * Publishers Weekly *

Victoria Jamieson worked as a children's book designer before becoming a full-time illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy and Canada. She now lives with her family in Portland, Oregon, where she maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers Roller Derby League.

General Fields

  • : 9780141378992
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Puffin
  • : April 2017
  • : 199mm X 133mm X 15mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : September 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : English
  • : 741.5/973
  • : 240
  • : Full colour throughout
  • : Victoria Jamieson
  • : Paperback
  • : 917